Skip to main content
LSU Law Logo

Symposium Objective and Purpose

On Friday, Jan. 31, Louisiana Law Review and the Pugh Institute for Justice will present “We The Jury: Conversations on the American Jury’s Past, Present, and Future” in the McKernan Auditorium at the Law Center. The symposium will feature legal practitioners and scholars from across the country who will discuss and analyze a variety of issues relating to the history of the jury, jury selection and representation, the Sixth Amendment and non-unanimous juries, and the role of the jury as a political and cultural institution.

Speakers include Professor Shari Diamond, Professor Paul Finkelman, Professor Daniel Harawa, Professor Alexis Hoag, Professor Brooks Holland, Professor Mary Graw Leary, Professor Renée Lerner, Professor Nancy Marder, Professor Gregory Parks, Paula Hannaford-Agor, Renée Manes, and local judges and lawyers including Judge Piper Griffin, Judge William Morvant, Skip Philips, J.E. Cullens, Jr., Will Snowden and Sam Crichton. LSU Law Center professors will moderate panels of scholars and practitioners in addressing these issues.

Please join us on January 31, 2020, as we explore the history, contemporary challenges, and future role of the American jury.