Skip to main content
LSU Law Logo

Corcos Completes 3-Year Term on Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Selection Committee

Professor Christine Corcos has completed a three-year term (2013-15) on the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Selection Committee (Social Science and Humanities Research Council Division).  She was one of three non-Canadian members of the 14 member committee.

Administered overall and funded by the Government of Canada and directly administered by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Banting Postdoctoral Fellowship Program awards two-year non-renewable stipends of $70,000 CDN each year to 70 top-tier postdoctoral Canadian and international scholars per year to assist them in developing their leadership and research potential. The three selection committee (SSHRC, NSERC, and CIHR) members make recommendations to the Tri-agency steering committee, which makes the final decision on Banting Fellowship recipients. This committee consists of the three federal granting agency heads and the deputy ministers of Industry Canada and Health Canada, which approves the final selection of awardees. At any time, up to 140 Banting Fellows study at leading universities and institutes in Canada and abroad and then move on into careers in teaching and research around the world.

More information about the very prestigious Bantings is available here at